Red Flags: A Review of To Nowhere by C.E. Wilson

tonowhereTitle: To Nowhere
Author: C.E. Wilson
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: July 5th, 2015
Kindle Edition: 206 Pages
Source: Author
A world no one would believe.

From the moment Lyris is treated to coffee by a beautiful stranger, she has no idea that her life is about to change forever. In her enthusiasm to start at a new school with a new boyfriend, Lyris is almost able to look past his oddities.

Almost.

The way he eyes up her striking red hair.

The way he loves that she’s seventeen. “The perfect age.”

And the way he’s gone from all but begging to show her a specific room in a specific house to making her swear never to even think about it again.

When Lyris doesn’t take his strange warnings seriously, she finds that nothing could have prepared her for what lay behind that door.

Suddenly, Lyris finds herself in a world no one would believe. A world where she’s only a few inches tall and giants aren’t creatures from fairy tales. Where humans are no longer the dominant race, but pets auctioned off to the highest bidder. Lyris understands the true danger of such a place, but there seems to be one person on her side.

Her kind and surprised captor.

And while Brindt appears to be sweet and trustworthy, he also straddles the line between seeing her as an equal and a cute animal.

Lyris has to get home… before the one person can turn to becomes the one person who can’t let her go.

Maybe I had been so blinded by his beauty and charm, his wit and banter that I missed some red flags.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.  

Having read all sorts of paranormal novels, I was intrigued to see one that featured a class of supernatural that is largely unexplored. There aren’t many novels written about giants, I checked. I was hoping To Nowhere would be a fresh take on the paranormal fantasy genre. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The idea was interesting, but the final product was raw and unfinished.

This novel is riddled with all kinds of errors, from basic spelling mistakes to flawed sentence structure. Now, I am not an editor, but these issues were extremely distracting. I can usually ignore a typo or two, but this went well beyond that. In places where I should have been engrossed in the story I found myself mentally correcting glaring mistakes.

Grammatical issues aside, this book failed to hold my attention. I found the characters unlikable from moment one. It was difficult to get to know them through stilted dialogue and inconsistent actions. Each time a character would appear to make progress they would regress back to their initial state almost immediately. This lead to confusing scenes and a general lack of growth.

I wasn’t blown away by the narrative. It moved at an awkward pace that made it difficult for the reader to determine how much time had passed in character. But, aside from that, it was easy enough to follow and was a very quick and easy read. Though, it does read younger than most Young Adult novels I have read.

The ending left an opening for a sequel, leaving me to believe that the author may revisit this world in the future. If she does, I can only hope it is a little more polished.

AESTHETICS

4 thoughts on “Red Flags: A Review of To Nowhere by C.E. Wilson

  1. To be honest, the summary made me think that this was an incredibly creepy novel… a guy who’s obsessed with a teenage girl’s appearance, loves the fact that she’s only 17, and tries to get her into a secret room in his house? Yikes! Glad to hear it’s not that kind of novel.

    But sorry to hear that the grammar and plot didn’t live up to the expectations.

    Like

  2. I received this from the author too and I’m only about 20% in but the character interactions are killing me. It’s way way too Fifty Shades of Grey for me, I feel like the author should have checked what kind of books I like before sending it to me, she’d have seen what I thought about that book haha. And holy insta-love galore.

    Like

    1. I agree that the author should have done a little more research into who she was asking for a review. I don’t think she would have sent it to me if she had. *shrugs* Oh well.What’s done is done. I can’t wait to read your review.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

