We are back!

back

Hello out there. Anyone around? I am here to inform you all that I am not, in fact, dead. Life caught up to me around the beginning of May and I stopped updating. But, I didn’t stop reading. With that in mind, I have decided to participate in the mid-year book freak out as a way to get Weezled caught up. Here we go!

1. BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2015uprooted

Uprooted is one of my only 5 star reviews on goodreads this year. That’s out of 88 books that I have read since January 1st. I didn’t really expect much from this book when I picked it out on Netgalley, but I devoured it in one sitting. I can’t recommend it enough. If you haven’t read this gem of a book yet, you are missing out on something truly great!

2. BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2015heir crown

I know that Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire were not published this year, they are still my favorite sequels of the year. I don’t know what rock I was living under or how I managed to miss out on the Throne of Glass series, but that changed this year.

3. NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TOwitch

I was really hyped up about The Witch Hunter before it came out, but it got lost in my TBR. This list has reminded me that I need to pick up a copy, and soon.

4. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEARwinter

This one is really hard for me. I wanted to list close to ten books that I am looking forward to this year, but I decided it was best to only list one. The book that won out is Winter. I adore the Lunar Chronicles and can not wait to see what happens next in this space opera retelling.

5. BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENTprudence

I loved The Parasol Protectorate. I wanted Prudence to be just as good. Unfortunately, it just didn’t have the same kind of silly charm the prequel series had. Prudence just isn’t her mother.

6. BIGGEST SURPRISEpoison

I know, I know. Poison Study came out in 2007. But, it’s brand new to me! I was truly shocked at how much I loved this book. Unfortunately, the entire series doesn’t live up to the high bar set by Poison Study. This one is still a must-read.

7. FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)maas

I didn’t discover Sarah J. Maas until this year. I’m not really sure how I managed to ignore her, but it is safe to say that I am hooked now!

8. NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH

Janco from the Study Series. His sarcastic and goofy attitude is just adorable. I loved that he had his own chapters in Shadow Study. More Janco, please!

9. NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER

Biffy from The Parasol Protectorate. Absolutely everyone needs an impeccably dressed and well mannered friend like Biffy. The fact that he’s a werewolf is just a bonus.

10. BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRYocean

I didn’t love Ocean at the End of the Lane as much as I wanted to. I felt like it was too short. It needed another fifty pages to be really stellar. That said, I still cried. I couldn’t help it. This book is full of feels.

11. BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPYready

Ready Player One pressed all of my geeky buttons. If you enjoy obscure gaming references then this book is for you. Just be prepared for your face to hurt from all of the smiling.

12. FAVORITE BOOK TO FILM ADAPTATION YOU SAW THIS YEAR

I haven’t seen any book adaptations this year.

13. FAVORITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR

I only wrote a few before life kicked in and Weezled went dormant. None of them really stand out.

14. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR (OR RECEIVED)thorns

A Court of Thorns and Roses is beautiful inside and out. I would cosplay this book cover, it is so pretty. That’s a thing, right?

15. WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

My TBR is so long I am not even going to attempt to answer this one. Nope. WAY too long.

Well, that is my very brief recap. It barely touches on the 88 books i have read this year, but it is a start. I look forward to the rest of the year here at Weezled. Reviews will start back up soon with a buddy review of Court of Fives with my friend Delaney over at allofthebookthings.com.

AESTHETICS

4 thoughts on “We are back!

  1. Welcome back, Caitlin. I am actually new to your blog. I was passing by and I thought I would be a welcoming committee for you.

    I totally agree with you on the Poison study view. I so loved that book but the others kind of let me down too. So I had been procrastinating on reading them but I can’t not be without reading them either.

    You aren’t the only one. I have heard so much about Sarah J Maas but I still haven’t picked up her books. Only reason is my obstinate mind!

    Hope to see you around 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the welcome! It’s good to be back. I am glad that I am not the only one who thought the study series went downhill. I really didn’t care for the Glass series. Opal was annoying and her choice of lover was beyond absurd.

      Like

Leave a comment